Go Back   Weapons Forum > General Weapons > Rimfire Guns and Ammo

Rimfire Guns and Ammo

AR-15 based 22 need help!!!

This is a discussion on AR-15 based 22 need help!!! within the Rimfire Guns and Ammo forums, part of the General Weapons category!
Ok so I'm fairly new to the AR platform so forgive me for my ignorant ass! I am looking into ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2012, 08:52 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default AR-15 based 22 need help!!!

Ok so I'm fairly new to the AR platform so forgive me for my ignorant ass!

I am looking into getting a AR-15 22, but have a few questions. I don't know who all makes them and who is the best. I also was wondering is there any difference between an AR-15 22 and a regular AR-15. I might use the lower for something else but will probably use the 22 just for plinking and ammo is really cheap.

So could I put like a .556 upper on a lower AR-15 22?
Is the buffer tub spring different?
Is the trigger different?

Yeah I know I need lots of help. haha

I really just need a lower but can't seem to really find one.
ISFast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 12:44 AM   #2 (permalink)

http://www.smith-wesson.com/webapp/w...layErrorView_Y

Was looking at this what do you think?

Old 11-15-2012, 09:26 AM   #3 (permalink)

Full Access Member

I would feel more comfortable putting a 22 upper on a standard lower than I would the other way around. There are some differences between the 22's, 9mm also, and the standard rifle actions. I am not familiar enough with them to correctly explain all the differences though.

One thing I will point out about the 22 in your link is that it specifically states that it has a poly lower. I wouldn't use a poly lower designed for a 22 with anything more powerful than that.
oppo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:15 AM   #4 (permalink)

I completely overlooked that. Yeah plans were for something real big to go on top of that lower. Back to the drawing board.