Remington 700

Maxx2893

Full Access Member
Gonna be upgrading my Remington 700 BDL in .270. This is a project I will be doing in a few months and I'm starting to research it now. Will be swapping stocks to Richards Microfit Wildcat, Exhibition grade wood. I'll also be swapping scopes to a higher quality. Any other upgrades you recommend while I'm doing this? Haven't started looking much, but what are some must-do's or should-do's?

This is the first I've ever worked on a gun. I've done some light disassembly for cleaning before, but never changing parts (except scopes). Any tips or tricks on things I need to do? What is the best way to finish wood to get an extreme shine? Like I said this is my first time to do this so ANY tip and tricks will be appreciated. Even ones you think are obvious, state em, because I have no experience.

I will also be floating the barrel. I've read people bed the action when doing this. Is it required?

Here is the stock I plan to use:

Tigerwood_Wildcat_Style_RH_Side_10inch72dpi.JPG

Using this grade of wood:

Dual_Grip_LH_Side_Color_75dpi.JPG

Thanks everyone!

oppo

Full Access Member
Bedding the action is not required but it is a good idea. One other upgrade I would definitely recommend is to upgrade the trigger. The difference between the factory trigger and a good supermarket trigger is night and day.

oppo

Full Access Member
That is a good question. I have a Timney in one of my Savages and I really like it. I have it adjusted very light and it breaks like glass with very little travel. It was worth every penny and then some. Jewel is popular with benchrest shooters and supposed to be as good as it gets but I have no experience with them and they were quite a bit more expensive last time I checked.

Maxx2893

Full Access Member
Thanks again for all your help oppo

This is an ongoing project so any other recommendations from anyone is helpful.

Maxx2893

Full Access Member